saving money on staples – knowing the cost of items

Standard

there are thousands of posts on saving money and bulk buying sometimes for the sake of bulk buying now I live by myself so don’t often bulk buy I’d rather use something up before replacing it however there are certain things I make exceptions for mainly things that have a long shelf life like washing powder, tea bags and certain tins

I cannot believe the price people pay for washing powder full price and I think I would cry if I had to do it so I tend to be on the lookout for an offer as soon as I’m 2 thirds of the way through the box, and I personally look for offers by knowing what I am prepared to pay per wash in my case that’s 10pence, my recent bargain was

surf

surf washing powder

thanks to Morrisons having this half price and then taking advantage of the £1 voucher available by liking the Unilever facebook page you can pick a voucher towards any Unilever product not just surf.

I also don’t stick to a particular brand although there are brands I wont touch having made the really cheap tea bag mistake before I don’t plan on doing it again.

I find sites like mysupermarket really good for comparing several of the big supermarkets unfortunately it doesn’t include all of them so I always take a look at the Morrison site as well as lidl and aldi being in a city I have all of these fairly close. I also keep an eye out for coupons as well.

So how do you save money on essentials ?

Leave a Reply

