Being over sensitive?

Standard

Sorry it’s an unedited ramble I may come back to it but I needed to rant

I’m starting to find myself being very upset by people’s behavior. Now my standard approach would be to just ignore these people however that’s hard to do with close friends and your partners family.
I’ve got a very good friend. I could tell her anything and when we’re together we have a great time but she thinks nothing of arriving 2 hours late or canceling plans after she’s supposed to have arrived. I have recently told her this isn’t ok which is really hard as I over think people’s potential reactions and tend to avoid saying anything that could cause any confrontation. I’m not holding out much hope of her changing

Then there’s Sam’s family. It feels like they don’t even like me, he has an aunt and uncle who live round the corner who have never shown any interest in meeting our son or me for that matter. We probably see his dad the most often and it’s great seeing them interact more as T gets bigger and more responsive.
The thing that really upsets me is the talk of visits that never happen and not being included in things. We’re coming to the end of the summer holidays which started with talk of visits from T’s aunty and cousin which have yet to materialize.
I tell myself they don’t mean to forget us or make me feel left out but when I see things about family trips or visits to places nearby on Facebook that I’ve not been invited too I start to take it personally. It hurts and feels like rejection, I wouldn’t mind so much if they invited Sam and Tobias.
I’ve never had family nearby all my grandparents died when I was younger and the rest of my family are not local, I liked the idea of T growing up having a close family, but I don’t feel like I should make the effort all of the time. I just seem to be taking this out on Sam rather than speaking to them about it which isn’t fair on any of us, but it’s easier to think they don’t like me than ask and have it confirmed.

I suppose it’s true that you can’t chose your family.

One thought on “Being over sensitive?

  1. It’s so irritating when people are late, never mind for plans with a baby. They don’t realise that just leaving the house on time takes an enormous amount of preparation and planning! I hope your friend does change..

    Beth x
    (@BKMaxx)

Leave a Reply

